About FPPD

Chief of Police

The Chief of Police is Joseph J. Orlando.

Past Police Chiefs:

Chief Robert M. Treiber 2015-2017
Chief Patrick Montuore  2008-2015
Chief Kim Chapman  2006-2008
Chief Raymond K. Smith  2004-2006
Chief John R. Treiber 1995 - 2003
Chief Richard Ruzicka  1973 -1995
Chief Charles Dowd  1965 - 1973
Chief Herbert VB Smith  1961-1964
Chief Theodore Slate 1931-1961


The Captain serves as the Executive Officer and oversees the Patrol Division, Support Services Division, and Investigative Division of the Department. 

The current Captain is Karl Svenningsen.

Florham Park Police Department Honor Guard

The Honor Guard members are a specially trained unit with experience in close order drill, color guard drill, as well as funeral and ceremonial protocol. Members attend ceremonies, parades and special functions upon request and proudly display their skills to the community.     

Line of Duty Deaths
Detective Frank Dailey
Patrolman Robert Hauptman

On July 17, 1975 Patrolman Robert Hauptman and Detective Francis Dailey were killed in an airplane accident while returning to Morristown Airport following a reconnaissance flight searching for marijuana crop. During their return to the airport the Cessna 150 stalled and then clipped a tree and crashed into the ground.  

Emergency Response Team

The Emergency Reponse Team (ERT) is a highly trained and dedicated group of officers who respond to incidents that exceed the tactical and technical capability of the initial responding officers. ERT officers are trained in active shooter response, barricaded subject resolution, hostage rescue, and high risk warrant service. The Florham Park ERT has a mutual aid agreement with tactical teams in East Hanover, Madison, and Hanover Twp. The teams train together monthly and share personnel and resources.